Association Of American Universities

The Association of American Universities (AAU) is a nonprofit organization of 62 leading public and private research universities in the United States and Canada, founded in 1900. The University of Missouri joined in 1908. Member universities are committed to first-rate undergraduate education, pioneering research and outstanding graduate programs. They must meet strict standards for faculty and research funding to qualify for AAU membership.