University of Missouri System

The University of Missouri System is made up of four campuses:

  • University of Missouri (MU or Mizzou)
  • University of Missouri–Kansas City (UMKC)
  • Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T)
  • University of Missouri–St. Louis (UMSL)

The system is governed by a nine-member Board of Curators, appointed by the governor, and a system president.

The University of Missouri had one campus until 1870, when the School of Mines and Metallurgy was established in Rolla. In 1963, the university founded a new campus in St. Louis and acquired the University of Kansas City.